Past Masterpiece of the Week (August 22-28 2016): Bauhaus – Sky’s Gone Out (1982)

The Sky’s Gone Out, the 3rd studio album by British goth rock pioneers Bauhaus was released in October 1982 by record label Beggars Banquet.

The initial limited edition of the LP included the live album Press the Eject and Give Me the Tape as a bonus. The compact disc reissue of the album dropped the run-out audio from the final track “Exquisite Corpse” and the vinyl edition contains a short recording of drummer Kevin Haskins reading from the play Baal. The Canadian edition of this album also contained a free 12″ vinyl single featuring “Ziggy Stardust”, “Kick in the Eye” and “Lagartija Nick”. This version did not have the distinctive artwork from the US and UK editions, but was instead an enlargement of the cover art from the “Terror Couple Kill Colonel” single.

Track listing:

1. “Third Uncle” (Brian Eno cover) 0:00
2. “Silent Hedges” 5:18
3. “In the Night” 8:33
4. “Swing the Heartache” 11:38
5. “Spirit” 17:37
6. “The Three Shadows, Part I” 22:47
7. “The Three Shadows, Part II” 27:08
8. “The Three Shadows, Part III” 30:20
9. “All We Ever Wanted Was Everything” 31:56
10. “Exquisite Corpse” 35:45